2022 Gruber Neuroscience Prize Recipients announced

17 May 2022

Society & Partner News

Larry Abbott, Emery Neal Brown, Terrence Sejnowski, and Haim Sompolinsky Share $500,000 Gruber Neuroscience Prize for Their Pioneering Contributions to Computational and Theoretical Neuroscience

The 2022 Gruber Neuroscience Prize has been awarded to Larry Abbott, PhD, of Columbia University, Emery Neal Brown, MD, PhD, of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and Massachusetts General Hospital, Terrence Sejnowski, PhD, of the Salk Institute for Biological Studies and UC San Diego, and Haim Sompolinsky, PhD, of the Hebrew University of Jerusalem and Harvard University, for their seminal contributions to the fields of computational and theoretical neuroscience. As datasets have grown ever larger and more complex, these fields have played an increasingly important role in helping scientists unravel the mysteries of the how the brain functions in both health and disease.

The Gruber Neuroscience Prize, which includes a $500,000 award, will be presented to Abbott, Brown, Sejnowski, and Somppolinsky, in San Diego, California, on 13 November at the annual meeting of the Society for Neuroscience.