IASP Summer School in Europe – Resilience to chronic pain: molecules to behavior to interventions

Heidelberg, DE

Attendance type(s): In Person

Event Dates: 15—19 Jun 2020

Chronic pain remains a global health problem and a challenge to basic and clinical research. The International Association for the Study of Pain (IASP) is dedicated to improving pain education as a salient approach towards understanding and treating pain. The main goal of this Pain Summer School, in harmony with the programs of IASP, is to address fundamental mechanisms of resilience to pain and explore strategies to develop novel therapeutic principles from insights gained from basic research on susceptibility vs. resilience to pain. The international gender-balanced faculty reflects not only a diversity of participating nations and disciplines in pain research, but also of experimental focus on preclinical/experimental models and clinical research. The school has a vibrant and exciting research and training program, including lectures from top international multidisciplinary faculty, hands-on methods workshops, trainee presentations, structured scientific debates involving trainees and faculty, workshops for advanced trainees on developing concepts for initiating and planning their independent research groups, individual mentoring sessions with experienced faculty mentors that can be booked by trainees and lots of time for interpersonal interactions in a relaxed setting.

The Summer School will take place in the historical old sector of the beautiful city of Heidelberg, Germany, which is easily accessible via public transportation. The number of trainees is limited to 40 to ensure close, personal interactions.

Confirmed Faculty:
1. Kirsty Bannister (King’s College, London, UK)
2. David Bennett (University of Oxford, UK)
3. David Finn (NUI Galway, Ireland)
4. Nanna Finnerup (Danish Pain Research Centre, Denmark)
5. Herta Flor (Central Inst. of Mental Health and Heidelberg Univ., Germany)
6. Luis Garcia-Larrea (Claude Bernard Lyon University, France)
7. Thomas Graven-Nielsen (Aalborg University, Denmark)
8. Rohini Kuner (Heidelberg University, Germany)
9. Stephen McMahon (King’s College, London, UK)
10. Esther Pogatzki-Zahn (University Hospital Muenster, Germany)
11. Andrew Todd (University of Glasgow, UK)
12. Rolf-Detlef Treede (Heidelberg University, Germany)
13. Felix Viana (Institute of Neuroscience, Spain)

Organisers for 2020: IASP, Rohini Kuner and David Bennett
Sponsored by: IASP, Heidelberg Pain Consortium (Germany), Wellcome Trust Pain Consortium (UK)

School coordinators:
Dr. Pooja Gupta and Anne Seller

Application deadline: March 20th, 2020

Mandatory Registration: Trainee fees: 500 €, which includes accommodation, coffee breaks, non-alcoholic beverages during the sessions, lunch and dinner on all days and the registration materials. Please provide the proof of your status (graduate student, medical student or junior postdoctoral fellow) via student identity card or the letter of support from your supervisor. Trainee fees will be subsidized for members of Heidelberg Pain Consortium and Wellcome Trust Pain Consortium.

Contact Details

Email: painschool2020@pharma.uni-heidelberg.de